Afghanistan vs West Indies: Hosts announce the squads for the T20I and ODI series

The selectors have rewarded the players for their performance in Shpageeza Cricket League.


Afghanistan T20
Afghanistan. (Photo Source: Twitter)

Afghanistan and West Indies will face off against each other in November in three T20Is, as many ODIs and a one-off Test in India. The tour begins with the shortest format of the game on November 5. Afghanistan Cricket Board (ACB) has announced the 16-man squads each for the T20I and ODI series. Rashid Khan continues to lead the team as the selectors have picked a strong to face the Caribbean team.

The players have been rewarded for their good show in the recently concluded domestic T20 tournament. Javed Ahmadi and Naveen-ul-Haq were among some of the prime performers for their respective teams and these three players have been picked in both the squads. Ibrahim Zadran has also been given a chance in both the teams.


Strong Afghanistan squad to face West Indies

There is not much difference between the ODI and T20I squads. Ikram Ali Khil has retained his place in the ODI squad after impressing in the World Cup. However, he is only part of the One-Day International team along with Afsar Zazai who actually did well in the Shpageeza Cricket League (domestic T20 tournament). Sayed Shirzad and Fareed Malik are the other players who have made it to only T20I squad.

The rest of the group is similar to which played the T20I tri-series in Bangladesh. Afghanistan will be playing the ODIs for the first time since the World Cup where they failed to win even a single game in nine outings. They played their last match of the tournament against the West Indies itself and lost it by 23 runs chasing 312 runs.

All the matches of the tour will be played at the Rajiv Gandhi International Stadium in Dehradun. The three T20 Internationals are scheduled to take place on November 5, 7 and 9. The ODI series will commence November 13 while the only Test match is set to be played on November 27. The Test squad is expected to be announced later.

Afghanistan T20I squad: Rashid Khan (c), Asghar Afghan, Hazratullah Zazai, Ibrahim Zadran, Javed Ahmadi, Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Sharafudin Ashraf, Fareed Ahmad Malik, Yamin Ahmadzai, Naveen ul Haq, Sayed Ahmad Shirzad, Mujeeb ur Rahman.

Afghanistan ODI squad: Rashid Khan (c), Asghar Afghan, Hazratullah Zazai, Rahmat Shah, Javed Ahmadi, Afsar Zazai, Gulbadin Naib, Mohammad Nabi, Najibullah Zadran, Karim Janat, Sharafudin Ashraf, Ibrahim Zadran, Yamin Ahmadzai, Naveel ul Haq, Ikram Alikhil, Mujeeb ur Rahman.