BBL 2018-19: Ben Dunk given out in a controversial manner against Perth Scorchers
The TV umpire had a close look at it and after a lot of contemplation, Dunk was adjudged out.
Published - Feb 5, 2019 1:43 pm
Updated - Feb 5, 2019 1:43 pm
Perth Scorchers are already out of this edition’s Big Bash League and their last match against the Adelaide Strikers is nothing, but a dead rubber. The team has nothing to lose and it came out with an attacking mindset in their erstwhile encounter against Glenn Maxwell’s Melbourne Stars at the new Perth Stadium. Ashton Turner and Co emerged victorious by 27 runs.
Their victory also meant that the Stars had to wait for one more match in order to qualify for the semi-final. During the crucial encounter, there was a moment of controversy and it cost the Stars the crucial went of Ben Dunk in the second over of their run-chase. The Scorchers set a daunting target of 183 for the visitors to chase down and it eventually turned out to be a far cry.
A big wicket for the Scorchers
The incident took place in the third ball of the over when the Stars were at nine without a wicket. Nathan Courter-Nile had the responsibility of giving the Scorchers’ an early breakthrough and he lived up to the expectations, getting rid of Dunk. The fast bowler dished out a short-pitched ball, which didn’t bounce much. The batsman went on the backfoot and tried to pull it away.
However, he couldn’t time the cherry properly and it went straight to Nick Hobson inside the circle. Nevertheless, the fielder wasn’t sure whether had taken the catch cleanly or not. Subsequently, he signalled that he didn’t take the catch. Dunk would’ve felt relieved at that stage. To everyone’s surprise, the decision was sent upstairs to Simon Lightbody, the third-umpire.
The TV umpire had a close look at it and after a lot of contemplation, Dunk was adjudged out. The wicket was a crucial one of the hosts as Dunk was one of Stars’ prolific run-scorer in the T20 tournament with 261 runs from 12 matches at an average of 23.72.
Here is the video
The fielder said it fell short, but the third umpire says OUT!
— cricket.com.au (@cricketcomau) February 3, 2019