BCCI announces India’s domestic season for 2019-20; set to host as many as 2,036 matches

The season kicks off with the Duleep Trophy scheduled to be played in August.


A view of logo of the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). (Photo by Aniruddha Chowhdury/Mint via Getty Images)

The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has come up with plans for India’s annual domestic cricket season 2019-20 which will kick off with the Duleep Trophy scheduled in August. The premier first-class tournament Ranji Trophy will be played between the months of December 2019 and March 2020 and the format of the elite tournament remains similar to the last season. The fixture also includes the women’s tournaments and the season will start with the T20 League scheduled in October.

Other coveted tournaments like Col CK Nayudu Trophy, Vinoo Mankad Trophy, Cooch Behar Trophy, Vijay Merchant Trophy and Vizzy Trophy which is an inter-university tournament will also take place as per schedule to promote young talents to carry forward the country’s rich legacy. India’s strong domestic cricket structure helps in generating scores of talents while tournaments like the Indian Premier League give them the necessary exposure.


It is no surprise that India have established themselves as a top team in the cricketing world. Currently, Team India is among the top four of the ongoing World Cup which is underway in England and Wales. During the 2019-20 domestic season, as many as 2,036 games will be played across various age groups in both the men’s and women’s categories.

While the Duleep Trophy will take place between August 17 and September 8, the Vijay Hazare Trophy which is a one-day competition will happen between September 24 and October 25. The Deodhar Trophy is set to be played between October 31 and November 4.

The Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy T20 tournament will take place between November 8 and December 1 while the Irani Trophy will take place between March 18 and 22. In between, the Ranji Trophy will continue from December 9 to March 13.

Ranji Trophy format to be similar like last season

The format of the Ranji Trophy remains similar to the last season in which the top team that qualifies from the Plate Group will be promoted to the Elite Group C in the next season. The two top sides that qualify for the quarter-finals from the Elite Group C will be promoted to Elite Group A & Elite Group B the following season.