BCCI names squads for U19 Challenger Trophy 2019

The selection committee has also made some announcements for the Emerging Asia Cup.


Dhruv Jurel
Dhruv Jurel. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The All-India Junior Selection Committee has picked India A, India B and India C teams for the upcoming Paytm U19 Challenger Trophy 2019 to be played in Hyderabad from 11th November. The tournament will also feature Nepal ‘A’ as the fourth team. Dhruv Chand Jurel, Priyam Garg and Shubhang Hegde have been named as the skippers of the A, B and C teams respectively.

Paras Mhambrey, Abhay Sharma, Hrishikesh Kanitkar have been named as the coaches. Yashasvi Jaiswal, who recently became the youngest to smack a double century in List A cricket, will be taking part for India A. The selection committee has also made some announcements for the Emerging Asia Cup.


The All-India Junior Selection Committee has named Shivam Mavi and Aditya Thakare as replacements for the injured Arshdeep Singh and Kamlesh Nagarkoti respectively in India’s squad for the Emerging Asia Cup. The BCCI Medical Team informed that Nagarkoti is unwell and will not be able to take part in the tournament while Arshdeep suffered a quadriceps strain during training.

Nagarkoti hasn’t played a competitive match for 21 months now after his scintillating show in the 2018 U19 World Cup in New Zealand where he clocked over 140 kph on a consistent basis. On the other hand, Arshdeep has taken some strides and also had the privilege of playing in the IPL. The Asia Cup gets underway on Thursday, November 14 with India’s first match against the UAE.

Here are the three squads for the U19 Challenger Trophy

India A

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Sai Sudarshan, Jay Gohil, Sameer Rizvi, Arjun Murhty, Dhruv Chand Jurel – Captain & wicket-keeper, Nitish Kumar Reddy, Kritagya Kumar Singh, Aman Bhadoriya, Rishabh Bansal, Purnank Tyagi, Prince Yadav, Dashrath Kumar, Aniket Reddy, Debopratim Haldar

India B

Tilak Varma, Sagar Dahiya, Yash Dhull, Priyam Garg – Captain, Siddhesh Veer, Kruthik Krishna wicket-keeper, Divyansh Joshi, Atharva Ankolekar, Ravi Bishnoi, Nirmal Kumar, Akash Singh, Aquib Khan, Vivek Kumar, Nehal Pajni, Harsh Jamwal

India C

Divyaansh Saxena, Arjun Azad, Pradosh Rajan Paul, Shashwat Rawat, Varun Lavande, Kumar Kushagra wicket-keeper, Sourav Dagar, Shubhang Hegde Captain, Ravi Roshan, Vikrant Bhadoriya, CTL Rakshan, Dhanit Raut, Vidyadhar Patil, Arya Sethi, Yousuf Mujtaba