‘I’m sorry for my mistake’ – Amy Jones apologizes for claiming dropped catch of Smriti Mandhana
Jones made it clear that she did not know that the ball had spilled out of her hands.
Published - Feb 2, 2020 11:13 am
Updated - Feb 2, 2020 11:13 am
The first match of the ongoing Australia Tri-Nation Women’s T20 Series between India and England saw a big controversy thanks to England wicketkeeper Amy Jones’ controversial catch. She had surprisingly claimed the catch although the ball had popped out of her gloves. In the 2nd over, Indian opener Smriti Mandhana nicked the first delivery from Katherine Brunt behind the wicket and Jones dived to her left to take the catch.
Jones claimed the catch and started celebrating while Mandhana decided to walk off the field. Everything was looking usual at that time before the replay showed that Amy Jones had dropped the catch. The third umpire soon intervened and rightly overturned the decision. Unsurprisingly, Jones faced the heat as a number of fans branded her cheat for her actions.
‘The right decision was made’: Amy Jones
On Sunday, Amy Jones took to Twitter to apologize for her actions against India. She, however, made it clear that she did not know that the ball had spilled out of her hands. Jones said that while taking the catch, she was confident the ball was under her control as she tweeted:
“The right decision was made, I thought it was clear to everyone that the ball came out at the end of my roll and I wasn’t trying to hide that. In the moment it felt like I had control of the ball for long enough. From replays it’s clear that I didn’t, I’m sorry for my mistake.”
The right decision was made, I thought it was clear to everyone that the ball came out at the end of my roll and I wasn’t trying to hide that. In the moment it felt like I had control of the ball for long enough. From replays it’s clear that I didn’t, I’m sorry for my mistake. https://t.co/173sxnEAIx
— Amy Jones (@amyjones313) January 31, 2020
India, meanwhile, went on to win the match to start the tournament in a fine fashion. Asked to bat first, England set India a target of 148. The reigning 50-over world champions finished their innings on 147 for 7 in their allotted quota of 20 overs. England captain Heather Knight top-scored for her team with 67 (44) with the help of eight fours and two sixes. With bowling figures of 4-0-19-2, India spinner Rajeshwari Gayakwad was the pick of the Indian bowlers.
In reply, Harmanpreet Kaur scored an unbeaten 42 to power India to a five-wicket win with three balls to spare. For England, Katherine Brunt picked up 2 wickets for 33 runs but could not defend the six runs in the final over.
Freehit: 20 Questions with Zimbabwe all-rounder Sikandar Raza