IPL 2019: Aakash Chopra lashes out at the umpiring standards and MS Dhoni
A wrong example to the next generation.
Published - Apr 12, 2019 9:02 am
Updated - Apr 12, 2019 9:02 am
Just like everyone, cricket analyst and commentator Aakash Chopra also had a say on the (non-)no-ball controversy in the game between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Rajasthan Royals (RR). The former cricketer was not impressed by the umpiring standards yet again. Also, he lashed out at MS Dhoni for his unprecedented action in the final over.
In a crunch situation, the straight umpire first declared a no-ball after the ball was bowled above the waist. However, little did he know that this would stir up a massive controversy. Mitchell Santner was not planted in his creased and stood a little ahead, possibly to deal with the yorkers. While the straight umpire signalled no-ball, the leg umpire wasn’t impressed with this call.
The decision had to be reversed which infuriated MS Dhoni. He felt that since the umpire already called a no-ball, it shouldn’t have been changed. The skipper stormed onto the field without any permission setting a very bad example, according to Aakash Chopra. The Delhi cricketer felt that Dhoni shouldn’t have done something like that which sets a wrong precedent.
Opposition captain has no right to walk onto the pitch
In his tweet, Aakash Chopra wrote that the action from the umpire was enough to feel crossed and miffed. However, he also mentioned that the opposition captain has no right to walk onto the field after being dismissed. MS Dhoni was fined 50 per cent of his match fees for this act and he accepted the sanction.
“Umpiring standards have been pretty low in this
#IPL and that was a no-ball given and reversed. Enough to feel crossed and miffed. But the opposition captain has no right to walk out on the pitch after being dismissed. Dhoni set a wrong precedent tonight. #RRvCSK #IPL,” tweeted Aakash Chopra after the incident.
Umpiring standards have been pretty low in this #IPL and that was a no-ball given and reversed. Enough to feel crossed and miffed. But the opposition captain has no right to walk out on the pitch after being dismissed. Dhoni set a wrong precedent tonight. #RRvCSK #IPL
— Aakash Chopra (@cricketaakash) April 11, 2019