Ranji Trophy 2019-20, Round 6 – Triple centuries for Sarfaraz and Manoj, End of Vidarbha’s unbeaten streak, Manipur’s low total and more stats

All the statistical highlights from the 6th round matches of the Ranji Trophy 2019-20.


Sarfaraz Khan
Sarfaraz Khan. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The highlight during the 6th round of Ranji Trophy 2019-20 was the high-scoring game between Mumbai and Uttar Pradesh as the two sides fought for first-innings lead till the last session. Mumbai posted the season’s highest total of 688/7 in response to UP’s 625/8 as Sarfaraz Khan scored an unbeaten triple ton. Even Manoj Tiwary scored his maiden triple ton as Bengal thumped Hyderabad by innings and 303 runs. It was Hyderabad’s 5th defeat in six matches this season. Tamil Nadu got their first win of the season as they got better of Railways by an innings and 164 runs.

All the statistical highlights from the 6th round matches of the Ranji Trophy 2019-20:

2 – Manoj Tiwary became only the 2nd player after Devang Gandhi (323 vs Assam in 1998/98) to score a first-class triple century for Bengal. Tiwary scored an unbeaten 303 against Hyderabad in Kolkata during this round. This was also only the 2nd FC triple ton recorded against Hyderabad. Sanjay Manjrekar scored 377 during the 1990/91 season against the Hyderabad team at the Wankhede.


7 – Sarfaraz Khan became only the 7th player to score a first-class triple hundred while representing Mumbai. The last of the previous six players was Rohit Sharma in December 2009 as he scored an unbeaten 309 against Gujarat.

Stats: Mumbai’s Sarfaraz Khan scores an unbeaten triple century in the Ranji Trophy

7 – Bengal’s Shahbaz Ahmed claimed a hat-trick during the Hyderabad’s first innings and became only the 7th player in Ranji Trophy to claim a hat-trick for Bengal. He is also the first to take a hat-trick for Bengal since Mohammed Shami against Madhya Pradesh in 2012/13. In the last 25 years, these two are the only hat-tricks for Bengal in Ranji Trophy.

27 – Manipur were bowled out for only 27 in their first innings against Meghalaya. It is now the joint 7th lowest total in the Ranji Trophy history and the 2nd lowest in more than 40 years.

Stats: Meghalaya bowls out Manipur for 27 in the Ranji Trophy game

29 – The 6-wicket defeat against Delhi brought an end to Vidarbha’s unbeaten streak of 29 matches in first-class cricket. Vidarbha’s last FC defeat came against Maharashtra in the 2016/17 season. Between these two defeats, Vidarbha won as many as 17 matches outright while another 12 ended in a draw.

34y 67d – Manoj Tiwary was 34 years and 67 days old on Monday when he raised up his maiden triple century in first-class cricket. He thus became the 2nd oldest player to score a triple ton in a first-class match on Indian soil. The record is held by Raman Lamba who scored 312 against Himachal Pradesh in the 1994/95 season on his 35th birthday.

Stats: Manoj Tiwary scores his maiden triple century in first-class cricket

301* – Sarfaraz Khan became only the 3rd player to score a triple century in first-class cricket while batting at No.6. Karun Nair (328 for Karnataka in the 2014/15 Ranji final vs Tamil Nadu) and Marco Marais (300* for Border in the 2017/18 season) are the other two such players. Overall, Sarfaraz’s unbeaten 301 is also the 3rd highest FC score for a batsman while batting at No.6 or a lower position.

7000 – Manoj Tiwary (7229) and Abhinav Mukund (7060) completed 7000 runs in Ranji Trophy. They are the first players to score as many runs for Bengal and Tamil Nadu. Manoj scored his maiden triple ton while Abhinav scored a century in his 100th Ranji match.

Watch: Irfan Pathan’s interview post his retirement