Ranji Trophy 2019-20: Round 9, Day 1- Round-Up

Sarfaraz Khan gathered 169* runs to continue his run-scoring spree in the ongoing Ranji Trophy.


Sarfaraz Khan
Sarfaraz Khan. (Photo Source: Twitter)

The ninth round of the ongoing 2019-20 Ranji Trophy kicked off across the length and breadth of the country today. Mizoram came face to face against Goa in their last league game of the tournament. Earlier, Mizoram won the toss and elected to field. But, the decision went against them as Goa batters smacked them across all the park on Day-1.

Smit Patel played his career-best knock of 236 runs. Later on, Amit Verma, the skipper of Goa scored 148 runs that helped their side in posting a mammoth total of 490 runs for the loss of four wickets. They also declared the innings and by the end of the first fay, Mizoram was at a score of 15 runs with one wicket.


Mumbai and Madhya Pradesh locked horns at Wankhede Stadium. The in-form middle-order Mumbai batsman Sarfaraz Khan successfully replicated his scintillating form of on Day-1 as he pulled off an unbeaten knock of 169 runs. He is still on the wicket and it will be interesting to watch that if he can convert into his double century or not on Day-2.

Meanwhile, Baroda kneeled down in front of Karnataka bowling attack as the whole team was dismissed for a lowly score of 85 runs. Krishnappa Gowtham turned out to be the leading wicket-taker in the 1st innings as he registered bowling figures of 3/25. On the other hand, Karnataka had a great opportunity to take a mammoth lead against visitors’ but they failed to do so. By the end of Day-1, they had scored only 165 runs for a loss of seven-wicket. Let’s see whether they will manage to elongate their lead or Baroda still holds a chance of taking a lead in the game.

Brief Scores:

Arunachal Pradesh vs Meghalaya, Round 9, Plate

MGLY 1st innings: 387/4 (Puneet Bisht  163; Nabam Tempol 2/63)

Mizoram vs Goa, Round 9, Plate

GOA 1st innings: 490/4 (Smit Patel  236; G Lalbiakvela 3/91)

MIZ 1st innings: 15/1 (Taruwar Kohli * 8; Vijesh Prabhudessai 1/8)

Manipur vs Chandigarh, Round 9, Plate

CDG 1st innings: 352/5 (Uday Kaul  145*; Sheiteendra Singh 4/44)

Assam vs Tripura, Round 9, Elite Group C

TRI 1st innings: 387/7 (Arkaprabha Sinha 90; Ranjit Mali 4/91)

Odisha vs Jharkhand, Round 9, Elite Group C

ODSA 205/4 (Debasish Samantray 67*; Ashish Kumar 3/31)

Sikkim vs Bihar, Round 9, Plate

BIH 1st innings: 268/8 (Shasheem Rathour 103; Iqbal Abdulla 4/59)

Hyderabad vs Vidarbha, Round 9, Elite Group A and B

HYD 1st innings: 239/7 (Prateek Reddy 76; Yash Thakur 4/44)

Puducherry vs Nagaland, Round 9, Plate

NGL 1st innings: 176/10 (Stuart Binny 59; Sagar Trivedi 3/48)

PDC 1st innings: 92/2 (S Karthik 41; Imliwati Lemtur 1/8)

Maharashtra vs Uttarakhand, Round 9, Elite Group C

MAH 1st innings: 207/10 (Ashay Palkar 60; Agrim Tiwari 3/49)

UTK 1st innings: 112/3 (Kamal Singh 51; Satyajeet Bachhav 2/26)

Jammu and Kashmir vs Haryana, Round 9, Elite Group C

JK 1st innings: 340/10 (Rajjakuddin Ahmed 35; Rahul Tewatia 7/98)

HAR 1st innings: 2/1 (Ankit Kumar 2)

Chhattisgarh vs Services, Round 9, Elite Group C

CG 1st innings: 179/10 (Amandeep Khare 97; Raushan Raj 4/53)

SER 1st innings: 81/3 (Mohit Ahlawat 20; Puneet Datey 2/28)

Delhi vs Rajasthan, Round 9, Elite Group A and B

DEL 1st innings: 389/6 (Hiten Dalal 102; Tanveer Ul-Haq 2/78)

Gujarat vs Andhra, Round 9, Elite Group A and B

AP 1st innings: 177/2 (Karan Shinde 49; Arzan Nagwaswalla 4/18)

GUJ 1st innings: 2/0 (Priyank Panchal 1)

Punjab vs Bengal, Round 9, Elite Group A and B

BEN 1st innings: 138/10 (Manoj Tiwary 73; Baltej Singh 3/16)

PUN 1st innings: 93/3 (Rohan Marwaha 48; Shahbaz Ahmed 2/28)

Karnataka vs Baroda, Round 9, Elite Group A and B

BR 1st innings: 85/10 (Ahmadnoor Pathan 45; Krishnappa Gowtham 3/25)

KAR 1st innings: 165/7 (Karun Nair 47; Soyeb Sopariya 3/40)

Mumbai vs Madhya Pradesh, Round 9, Elite Group A and B

MUM 1st innings: 352/4 (Sarfaraz Khan 169*; Kuldeep Sen 3/67)

Saurashtra vs Tamil Nadu, Round 9, Elite Group A and B

TN 1st innings: 250/7 (Abhinav Mukund 86; Jaydev Unadkat 3/25)

Uttar Pradesh vs Himachal Pradesh, Round 9, Elite Group A and B

HP 1st innings: 220/10 (Nikhil Gangta 49; Aquib Khan 5/42)

UP 1st innings: 23/1 (Aryan Juyal 8*; Kanwar Abhinay Singh 1/12)