T20 Mumbai League 2019, Match 15 Review: Clinical NaMo Bandra Blasters end SoBo SuperSonics’ unbeaten run

SuperSonics posted 151 runs, a competitive total on the board but the Bandra Blasters chased it down.


Prasad Pawar
Prasad Pawar of NaMo Bandra Blasters. (Photo Source: T20 Mumbai)

NaMo Bandra Blasters thrashed SoBo SuperSonics by four wickets to register their second win of the season while inflicting the first defeat of the season on the latter. Eknath Kerkar scored a fine fifty at the top of the order while there were notable contributions from skipper Shreyas Iyer and Prasad Pawar as the Blasters chased down the total with four wickets in hand and four balls remaining.

Asked to bat first, the SuperSonics were off to a decent start with skipper Jay Gokul Bista and Hersh Tank adding 37 runs for the opening wicket inside five overs. However, it was just not the precursor of the things that were to follow as SuperSonics failed to capitalise on the fine start and lost wickets at regular intervals to finish on 151 for 8. At one stage, the SuperSonics were reeling at 71 for 4 before a 54-run stand between Japjeet Randhawa and Yogesh Takawale stopped the rot.


However, both Randhawa and Takawale failed to capitalise on their starts and departed in a space of three balls to leave their side reeling at 125 for 6 from 125 for 4. Some handy contributions from Rohan Raje and Vaibhav Mali then helped SuperSonics cross the 150-run mark and put a competitive total on the board.

In reply, the Blasters were off to a poor start with opener Shrideep Mangela departing for just one. However, Kerkar and skipper Shreyas Iyer laid the platform for the chase by adding 64 runs for the second wicket. Khizer Dafedar broke the stand when he dismissed Iyer for 31. Ten runs later, Sujit Nayak departed too before Pawar took the game away from the SuperSonics by slamming 31 from just 16 balls.

Kerkar and Pawar added 46 runs for the fourth wicket before Rohan Raje revived his team’s hopes by dismissing the former. Five runs later, Pawar departed too but the lower-order batsmen made sure that SuperSonics do not benefit on those twin breakthroughs.

Brief Scores:

SoBo SuperSonics – 151/8(Yogesh Takawale 32; Nikhil Date 3/29)

NaMo Bandra Blasters – 152/6 (Eknath Kerkar 70, Prasad Pawar 31; Parag Khanapurkar 2-9)

SoBo SuperSonics won by four wickets.

Get the latest Cricket News and updates from the T20 Mumbai LeagueMatch PredictionsFantasy Cricket Tips and lots more on CricTracker.com.