TNPL 2018: Anirudha, Shajahan set up Kaalai’s win over Gillies

Srikkanth Anirudha was in his element as the Kaalai secured an impressive win.


Karaikudi Kaalai
Karaikudi Kaalai. (Photo Source: Photobank77)

Explosive knocks by opener Anirudha Srikkanth and M Shajahan set up iDream Karaikudi Kaalai’s 47-win over defending champions Chepauk Super Gillies in the 2018 Sankar Cement TNPL at the MA Chidambaram Stadium in Chennai on Saturday.

Skipper Anirudha struck his second successive fifty (56, 28, 4×4, 4×6) to provide Kaalai a powerful start on opting to bat while left-handed Shajahan complemented the top-order’s effort at the finish with a 20-ball 43 not out that included two fours and four sixes as the team put on a commanding 193/5.


It was Kaalai’s second win in three matches and handed Gillies’ their third defeat in as many outings.

Kaalai raced to 52 in Powerplay that was built on the opening-wicket stand between Anirudha, who suffered a calf injury, and left-hander V Aaditya, the latter falling in the seventh over to off-spinner B Arun.

Anirudha and next man Maan Bafna (31, 23b, 2×4), another left-hander, fired the total to 83 in the ninth over before the skipper fell to Arun, caught at the long-on fence by M Ashwin, who pulled off an impressive catch with a balancing act.

L Suryaprakash’s innings was short-lived but Bafna guided the team to 131 in the 15th over before falling lbw to left-arm spinner R Alexander, who had next man Shajahan caught and bowled but it was a no ball and the free hit resulted in a six.

After adding 87 runs in the middle nine overs, Kaalai put on a further 54 in the death overs with Shajahan on fire.

Gillies lost openers GS Raju and Sunny Singh for 18 but skipper KH Gopinath (47, 38b, 3×4, 2×6) and U Sasidev (23, 19b, 4×4) took the fight to the enemy camp with a stand of 55.

However, Gillies lost three wickets in the space of 14 runs that effectively derailed the chase. M Ashwin remained unbeaten on 33.

Anirudha did not take the field and pacer Yo Mahesh, who bowled impressively, marshalled the side in the skipper’s absence.

Brief scores:

iDream Karaikudi Kaalai 193/5 in 20 overs (S Anirudha 56, M Bafna 31, M Shajahan 43 n.o., B Arun 2-29, S Harish Kumar 2-36) bt Chepauk Super Gillies 146/6 in 20 overs (KH Gopinath 47, M Ashwin 33 n.o.).


‘Sankar Cement’ Maximum Sixes Award: Srikkanth Anirudha , Shajahan M

(iDream Karaikudi Kaalai)

‘Krishna Mines Super White Super Fours’ Award:  Srikkanth Anirudha (iDream Karaikudi Kaalai / Sasidev U Chepauk Super Gillies)

‘Equitas Funtastic’ Player of the Match: Shajahan M (iDream Karaikudi Kaalai )

‘Sprite Most Refreshing Player’ Award:  KH Gopinath (Chepauk Super Gillies)

‘Sankar Cement Man of the Match’ Award: Srikkanth Anirudha (iDream  Karaikudi Kaalai)

‘Most number of DOT BALL bowled in the match’ Award:  Mohan Prasath (iDream Karaikudi Kaalai)

Stay updated on ‘today’s cricket news‘ with